Dirtybird Celebrates TEN Years!!


Written by:

Views: 1805

JAN. 10, 2015
Dirtybird Celebrates TEN Years

Dirtybird Records is set to release a special compilation featuring new music from Claude VonStroke, Justin Martin & Ardalan, Eats Everything, Breach & Oliver Dollar, Catz & Dogz and Shiba San out on January 27 in honor of their label’s 10 year anniversary.

Ten years is a long time for an independent label to survive in music, let alone thrive, but since its inception, Dirtybird has done just that.

House and techno with influences from hip-hop, drum ‘n’ bass & funk, Dirtybird’s releases have blazed a path and created their own genre.  Over the years, “Sounds like a Dirtybird track” has become a definitive explanation for house music that is fun with lots of bass. Even now in this crowded landscape a Dirtybird release still feels a little bit special, not surprising, given that each and every release, even those from long-time dirtybird cohorts, still have to pass Claude VonStroke’s rigorous quality control.

In Claude VonStroke’s own words:

I can’t think of a better way to celebrate Dirtybird’s 10 year anniversary than by releasing 14 great tracks that I fully support. There’s no fluff in here. Everyone from our amazing talent pool has delivered their A game material. And l have also added a few great new names to the family.

It’s hard to believe that this little project started in my bedroom in the Lower Haight, San Francisco 10 years ago. I can distinctly remember hand stamping vinyl promos at home with my friend Fernando and trying to figure out the best way to mail them to Europe. I remember the very first guy to ever call me back about our music was Edgar Dirksen in Frankfurt, Germany, who was working at a now defunct distributor called Neuton. This was the only place that would agree to sell our records back in 2005 and I still thank him for taking the chance on us.

A lot has happened in the music industry over the last 10 years but I like to think we have stayed consistent and managed to enjoy the ride. The players may change but the theme stays the same; keep it fun and funky. So please enjoy this very special compilation of our music and here’s to another 10 years of Dirtybird!

Preview Dirtybird’s 10 year compilation here:


Full Tracklist:

1 Justin Martin & Ardalan – Function Feat. PartyPatty

2 Claude VonStroke – Big Ten

3 Shawn Q – Hit That

4 Will Clarke – Badness

5 Sacha Robotti & Kevin Knapp – Thump Bumper

6 Shiba San  – I Can’t Remember

7 Jack Ward – Yoghurt

8 Breach & Oliver Dollar – Watch me Work

9 Eats Everything – Robots are Cooool

10 Riva Starr & Gene Farris – After Dark (Is when we move)

11 Catz ‘n Dogz – Who Said It’s Time

12 Doorly – I Worked Hard For This Feat. Matty Pipes

13 Bruno Furlan – Blow Minutes

14 Worthy – So Delicious

Look out for the release of the special compilation on JANUARY 27!!