Pressure Busspipe Drops New Album, “Rebel With a Cause”


Written by:

Views: 3343

U.S. Virgin Islands reggae ambassador Pressure Busspipe returns with his seventh album, Rebel With a Cause.

Pressure – Rebel With a Cause feat. Redman

Pressure also appears this week as the featured artist on Pandora’s New Reggae Now playlist, streaming here. Streaming now on all DSPs

Pressure’s second LP for renowned St. Croix record label I Grade Records, Rebel With A Cause incorporates a broad palette of sounds from dub and hip-hop to soul and jazz, taking listeners on a meditative journey through topics from spirituality and romance to personal health.

The 14-track set features appearances from reggae all-stars Sizzla, Protoje, Jah9, Kabaka Pyramid and Anthony B, as well as Redman and Virgin Islands hitmakers R. City. Zion I Kings, sonic architects of his acclaimed 2014 album The Sound, handle the bulk of production with assists from Jamaica’s Winta James, USVI’s Dean Pond and Pressure Busspipe himself.

Also appearing, on the track “The System,” is late Virgin Islands reggae icon Vaughn Benjamin (of Midnite and, more recently, Akae Beka), who passed away this week at age 50. In light of his transition, Pressure — a frequent collaborator of Benjamin’s — and I Grade Records — which released many of Midnite and Akae Beka’s albums — have livicated Rebel With a Cause in Benjamin’s memory.

Pressure Busspipe – Rebel With a Cause (I Grade/Busspipe Records) tracklist:

  1. King Selassie First
  2. Wake Up Stay Up
  3. Streets Keep Calling feat. R City
  4. War is Ugly feat. Sizzla
  5. Burn Down feat. Reemah
  6. Rebel With a Cause feat. Redman
  7. Jah is Real feat. Protoje
  8. Can You Feel Love
  9. Forever
  10. It Red
  11. Peace and Love feat. Anthony B
  12. The System feat. Akae Beka
  13. Lion is a Lion Remix feat. Kabaka Pyramid
  14. Seek Jah First

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Souncloud | Spotify