Anjunadeep Announces New Compilation, Anjunadeep 09 – out October 27th


Written by:

Views: 2893

Anjunadeep, the renowned UK label behind talent like Cubicolor, Yotto, Dusky, Moon Boots, Lane 8 and Eli & Fur, has announced the ninth installment of its pioneering annual compilation series – ‘Anjunadeep 09 Mixed by Jody Wisternoff & James Grant.

Launched in London in 2005, Anjunadeep has evolved into one of electronic music’s leading labels with almost 350 releases under its belt, and an ever-increasing reputation for special parties around the world. Just recently Anjunadeep celebrated their biggest event to date, an unforgettable day at the stunning Gorge Amphitheatre outside Seattle with 18,000 dedicated fans in attendance. This summer also saw the label host a boat party on the rivers of New York, and take over two London venues for a month-long day & night residency.

Featured in publications like the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, as well as leading industry press such as Pitchfork and Resident Advisor, Anjunadeep continues to make waves with their unique brand of deep and soulful electronic music.

The past 12 months has seen the release of three acclaimed artist albums on the label, Cubicolor’s indie-electronic breakthrough debut which has accumulated 30 million streams, Moon Boots’ funk & soul influenced ‘First Landing’, which topped the KCRW most-played chart, along with the highly-anticipated return of Way Out West with their ‘Tuesday Maybe’ LP.

Meanwhile Anjunadeep has continued to rack up underground support from the likes of Dixon, Solomun, Joris Voorn, Kolsch, Tale Of Us and Sasha, along with Essential New Tune and Hottest Record In The World nods from BBC Radio 1, cementing the label’s reputation as leading force in the scene.

James and Jody have spent the better part of a year sourcing and curating this year’s compilation, creating 6 of their own exclusive remixes, edits and collaborations in the process. The result is one of the most adventurous Anjunadeep compilations to date – ranging from the esoteric electronica of Tokyo’s Lycoriscoris and Stockholm’s Boerd, through to peak-time dancefloor gems from label stars Yotto and Luttrell, weaved together effortlessly by Jody and James alongside a number of exclusives from Anjunadeep veterans Martin Roth, Dusky, Tom Middleton, 16 Bit Lolitas and Croquet Club.

As always however, James and Jody look to the future, introducing a raft of young new artists on this year’s compilation. Emerging acts Fluida, Antic, Kieran Apter and Gallago make up a strong UK contingent, alongside US talents Fairchild and David Hohme, Canada’s Kora and Australia’s Planète to name a few.

Label co-founder and A&R James Grant has built a cult following in recent years, with his compilations, live sets and radio shows a constant highlight in the label’s output. Bristol’s Jody Wisternoff has a reputation as a globe-trotting party starter, with an energetic DJing style and renowned production flair. Now mixing their fifth Anjunadeep compilation together and having played extended sets together around the world, the collaborative chemistry between the pair is obvious and reaches new heights on Anjunadeep 09. Dive in and enjoy.

Anjunadeep 09 Tracklist:


01. Boerd Void
02. Lycoriscoris Flight
03. Gallago Sun (Interlude Edit)
04. Dusky Square Miso (Anjunadeep 09 Mix)
05. James Maloney Angel Wings (Tontario Remix)
06. Modd Abenaki
07. Fluida Branches
08. Planète Faded Memory
09. Xinobi Far Away Place (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix)
10. Luttrell Wake Me Up Tomorrow
11. Compuphonic Medicis
12. Aiiso Gravity
13. Kieran Apter & Leon Power Drifting Spring
14. SOHN Lights (SQL Remix)
15. Jody Wisternoff For All Time feat. Hendrik Burkhard
16. Fairchild The Light In You
17. Yotto Aura
18. Luttrell Contact
19. Croquet Club Night Lights


01. Movement Machina The Flame (Jody Wisternoff and James Grant Edit)
02. Savvas Nostalgia (Intro Edit)
03. Tontario Ambivalens
04. Lycoriscoris Blue
05. Kora Nous
06. Hosini Syna
07. Martin Roth Hypno Seq
08. Gallago Lost Signal
09. Neil Quigley And The Sky Calls (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix)
10. Gacha Bakradze Contactless
11. Koelle, Jody Wisternoff and James Grant On Air
12. Antic Touch Of My Soul
13. L. Doblado Lie Alone (16 Bit Lolitas Remix)
14. Luttrell What You Are
15. Hola & Bryson Cinematic Fireball (Tom Middleton, Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix)
16. David Hohme Soft Landing (Jody Wisternoff & James Grant Remix)
17. Leo Grünbaum Bloom feat Aerial East (Safa Mix)

Anjunadeep Tour Dates:

10 November – REV – Minneapolis, MN
11 November – Sound Bar – Chicago, IL
15 November – Bijou – Boston, MA
17 November – Analog BKNY – Brooklyn, NY
18 November – The Ground at Space – Miami, FL
22 November – U Street – Washington D.C., DC
24 November – Coda – Toronto, ON
25 November – SAT – Montreal, QC
1 December – Celebrities – Vancouver, BC
2 December – Vinyl – Denver, CO
8 December – Exchange – Los Angeles, CA
9 December – Bang Bang – San Diego, CA
14 December – Audio – San Francisco, CA
15 December – Kingdom – Austin, TX
16 December – Monarch, Phoenix, AZ

Ajunadeep:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram