WOTN Archive

Written by:

Views: 1567

SEPT. 24, 2013

The first round of speakers for Asia-Pacific’s second annual Electronic Music Conference (EMC) have been revealed with tickets on sale now for the December event to be held in Sydney, Australia.

This year’s event will include a number of world-class acts including Tommie Sunshine, Ferry Corsten, Tommy Trash, Giuseppe Ottaviani, Krewella, Stafford Brothers, M4SONIC, Destructo, Grant Smillie, MaRLo and Nina Las Vegas, with many more to be announced.

Joining them will be some of the world’s leading industry heavyweights such as Matthew Adell (CEO Beatport), Richard Slatter(GM, Twitter Music), Tim Smith (CEO & Founder of Blood Company), Michael Cohen (Control Management Group), Gary Richards (HARD Events, LA), Kerri Mason (inthemix USA & Billboard), CrisHearn (Primary UK), Adam Zammit (CEO Big Day Out), Jon Hanlon (Sony/Konkrete) and Dan Rosen (CEO, ARIA).

The theme for EMC 2013 is “Asia in Focus”, with a particular emphasis on Australia’s role as one of the leading Electronic Dance Music forces in the Asia-Pacific region.

Neil Ackland, EMC Founder said “EDM is exploding across the Asia Pacific region. Our goal with EMC is to make Sydney and EMC the hub for the regions industry leaders and artists. We will be bringing industry leaders from across Asia Pacific to Sydney to encourage collaboration and ignite business opportunities for artists and the industry”.

Held over three days from December 2–4, EMC will move to its new home Carriageworks, which boasts a 1000 seat main room. Commencing with an opening cocktail party on Monday December 2, the conference will take place on December 3 & 4. Conference goers will have access to a full-time production masterclass area with stadium seating, a casual forum for breakout discussions, a dedicated networking stream, a large bar and restaurant open all day and night for delegates and interactive exhibits in the industrial foyer.

EMC has also secured investment from Destination NSW to ensure EMC achieves its stated goal of being a hub for Asia-Pacific business leaders and artists.

Minister for Tourism, Major Events and the Arts, George Souris, said “The NSW Government is proud to support the Electronic Music Conference here in Sydney, the home of the Australian Music Industry.”

EMC is also pleased to welcome back sponsors inthemix.com, Moshtix and Rdio who will this year be joined by Miller and a range of other sponsors, still to be announced.

Tickets for this year’s conference are now on sale with more affordable pricing options announced to ensure the event is more accessible to aspiring producers and industry members. As part of its commitment to fostering new and emerging talent, EMC will offer a student ticket for the first time in 2013.

Early-bird tickets are limited to be sure to get in fast to claim the low rate. Tickets can be purchased from Moshtix here.

EMC 2013 December 2 – 4 Sydney, Australia

Student Rate: $299

Early-Bird: $329

Full First Speaker Line-up:

Ferry Corsten, artist

MatthewAdell, CEO Beatport

Tommie Sunshine, artist

Tim Smith, CEO The Blood Company

RichardSlatter, General Manager, Twitter Music

Tommy Trash, artist

Michael Cohen, Control Management Group

Krewella, artists

Cris Hearn, Primary UK

Dimitri de Wit, CEO, Twenty4Seven Management

Gary Richards, Hard LA / artist

Jon Hanlon, EDM Director, Sony Music

GiuseppeOttaviani, artist

Stafford Brothers, artists

Kerri Mason, inthemix USA & Billboard

MaRLo, artist

Dan Rosen, CEO, ARIA

W&W, artists

Nina Las Vegas, artist / triple j

Neil Ackland, CEO, Sound Alliance

Richie McNeill, SFX TOTEM / Stereosonic

Paula van der Waerden, Twenty4Seven Management

John Curtin, Stereosonic

FrankCotela, One Love

Solarstone, artist

AdamZammit, CEO Big Day Out

Heatbeat, artist

Bryan Kearney, artist

GrantSmillie, artist / Neon Records

SanderBouma, A&R manager at Armada Music

Brett Robinson, Future Entertainment

BenPersky, Mixed Management

M4SONIC, artist

Tim Duggan, Content Director, Sound Alliance

Jump The Gun aka Matt Hykus, artist

JasperWagensman, David Lewis Productions

Jochen Miller, artist

JasonAyoubi, Future Entertainment

Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, artists

Aly and Fila, artists

Simon Coyle, SFX Touring

Jack Tregoning, Global Editor, inthemix

DuaneBuriani-Gennai, KonkreteAgency

John O’Callaghan, artist