WOTN Archive

Written by:

Views: 1759

JULY 17, 2013



Los Angeles-based producer DLX, the “mad scientist of drum arrangements,” returns to his roots with his new release, ‘LoCash,’ a custom-cut revisitation of vintage sound with a modern, relevant facelift. DLX pays homage to hip hop and electronica cultures of the past with a brand new take on timeless, classic sounds. The six-track EP is undeniably the work of Doctor Lazarus X (DLX), featuring six fresh, sharp blends of his signature complex, rapid-fire percussion and bone-rattling bass. ‘LoCash’ is out on SMOG Records today, July 16 — listen to the mini-mix on Soundcloud BELOW.



DLX made his international breakthrough back in 2008 with the wide-open and heavy track “Matter of Fact,” frequently recognized by it’s companion on the B-Side, Breakage’s “Relatively Speaking Remix”. In 2010, he was once again in the spotlight with a featured track on the Scion Sampler CD V.30 with his track “City of Cars (feat. Kemst)” paired with a remix by Von D (France). DLX also sports a lengthy list of solo work, and has officially remixed works by Kraddy, Plastician & Juakali and more.


DLX’s brand new EP opens with the title track, ‘LoCash’, a huge retro-classic hip-hop tune whose foundations rest on the complicated framework of DLX’s rhythmic arrangements. Fleshed out with an instantly recognizable old-school slap bass and piercing orchestra stabs, DLX polishes the funk and soul facets of this nostalgic, urban jewel to a blinding, beautiful shimmer. “Echo Low” and “Funky Exit” are two bass-laden smashers closer to the sound DLX is known for. ‘Echo Low’ keeps things rapid and irresistibly precise with a smooth blend of classic drum machine sounds and contemporary electronic beats. ‘Funky Exit’ flutters effortlessly between half time, head bobbing grooves and uptempo footwork/juke characteristics and is guaranteed to leave any respectable dance floor hot and breathless. Things push deeper with the last two tracks on the album: ‘Dawn Light’ cleans up nicely and gives listeners some real space to explore in its depths with its smooth, pulsing low end, and ‘Spearmint Funk’ cools the EP off nicely with a highly-articulated fusion of ambience and rhythm. Finally, ‘LoCash’ receives a glitched-out, high speed remix by FSTZ, whose adaptation is threaded with an even spacier and more spasmodic combination of high-temperature drum machines and new era synthesizers.


‘LoCash’ is available through SMOG Records today, July 16, on Beatport, iTunes and all major online music retailers.

‘LoCash’ Track List

1. LoCash

2. Echo Low

3. Funky Exit

4. Dawn Light

5. Spearmint Funk

6. LoCash (FSTZ Remix)