OUT NOW: Gupi Releases New Album ‘None’ via Dog Show Records


Written by:

Views: 1842

Rising California-based producer Gupi releases his new album None — his first release for Dylan Brady’s burgeoning Dog Show Records imprint (100 gecs, Alice Longyu Gao) — out now and streaming everywhere here: https://DogShowRecords.ffm.to/None

Meshing influences from across the lexicon of electronic music into a disorientingly exuberant experience, Gupi’s penchant for sonic experimentation, unconventional ideas, and pure fun is on full display throughout the 11-track electronic amalgamation.

“‘None’ is all about my personal experiences over the course of my life and how I have grown and learned from them,” Gupi (pronounced “guppy”) explains. “Every song is a component to my overall self discovery. These sorts of feelings can be very hard to express with just words so I try my best to do it with funny sounds.”


None arrives one week after Gupi first announced the project alongside lead single “Thos Moser” featuring Fraxiom, which alongside its video, is a highly addictive, mile-a-minute, stream of consciousness Where’s Waldo? of euro-rave/pop-punk influence and pop culture references, or a sentient YouTube comments section fuelled by bong rips, energy drinks and the McDonald’s value menu, which PAPER Magazine applauds as masterfully walking the line “between being a Soundcloud shit-post and eurobeat throwback track, finding common ground between its absurd humor and dance-floor-ready rhythm.”

Gupi & Fraxiom – Thos Moser (Official Music Video)


Gupi – None(2/25/2019 via Dog Show Records)
Stream: https://DogShowRecords.ffm.to/None
1. None
2. Modest
3. Paradise
4. Spencer Adventure 2
5. Plymouth Simulation
6. Driving Directly Into a Concrete Wall
7. Regression
8. Thos Moser (feat. Fraxiom)
9. Faking It
10. False Awakening
11. Delusion

Twitter / Instagram / SoundCloud / Bandcamp / Official Website

Twitter / Instagram / YouTube / SoundCloud / Bandcamp / Official Website