WOTN Archive

Written by:

Views: 2120

“OPUS” Eric Prdyz’s long awaited debut album is out today. Clocking in at 19 tracks, Opus
is a personal narrative through the diverse and rich soundscapes that
make up one of electronic music’s most unique and respected producers. 

STREAM  Stream OPUS via Spotify HERE

Spin named Opus their album of the week, describing it as “an
iconic collection of 21st-century house music that’s so expansive and
far-reaching it outgrows its very genre, unable to be contained within
any four-walled enclosure.”

under multiple aliases and straddling house, techno and more, Prydz is a
twice Grammy nominated artist, who has risen to the very top of
electronic music. He’s headlined solo shows at iconic venues like Brixton Academy and Madison Square Garden,
yet refused to give up his roots in underground club culture. For the
breadth of his career his productions have walked a delicate and
admirable path, straddling the increasingly divided world of electronic
music, drawing admiration from chart toppers and underground icons

eschews hyperbolic concepts, reinvigorating the electronic music album
format by showing a record can still be smart and anchored by the
Refusing to be pigeonholed or constrained, Opus
is filled with the same spirit that saw an 8 yr old Prydz reject formal
piano training due to its rigidity. From breathy melodic euphoria to
stripped back dark minimalism, Opus is quintessentially Eric
Prydz, immaculately produced, soaring but intimate, euphoric and
melancholic, and underpinned by those singular Prydz melodies.

released over 30 tracks in 2015, celebrating decade long milestones of
his most popular aliases, the melodic house of Pryda and the dark techno
of CirezD. But despite this prolific year that underscored the
popularity of his signature sounds, Prydz refuses to look backwards, and
surprises on Opus, imbuing the record with a real sense of discovery.

the golden-age of Swedish techno that dragged him into club culture, to
the synth-pop of the 1980s that sparked his love affair with electronic
music, Opus reveals the influences that have shaped Prydz, while
also being his most personal and intimate work to date. It’s not
calculating or contrived, its Eric’s story.

Accompanying the release of Opus will be a three city EPIC 4.0 tour.
EPIC (Eric Prydz In Concert) shows are famed for their use of holograms
and 3D technology, and EPIC 4.0 has been redesigned from the ground up
following EPIC 3.0 at Madison Square Garden. EPIC 4.0’s initial 5 nights
sold out in minutes, so additional nights were added in NYC and SF,
meaning Prydz will play to over 20,000 people during EPIC 4.0 Part I.

‘OPUS’ Track List:
1. Liam
2. Black Dyce      
3. Collider
4. Som Sas
5. Last Dragon
6. Moody Mondays ft. The Cut
7. Floj
8. Trubble
9. Klepht
10. Eclipse

1. Sunset At Cafe Mambo
2. Breathe ft Rob Swire
3. Generate
4. Oddity
5. Mija (Re-Scored)
6. Every Day
7. Liberate
8. The Matrix
9. Opus

Purchase OPUS via:





Feb 12             New York, NY            Terminal 5

Feb 13             New York, NY            Terminal 5

Feb 14             New York, NY            Terminal 5

Feb 19             Los Angeles, CA         Palladium

Feb 20             Los Angeles, CA         Palladium

Feb 26             San Francisco, CA       Armory

Feb 27             San Francisco, CA       Armory

Purchase Tickets HERE

Eric Prydz – EPIC 3.0 (Madison Square Garden) OFFICIAL TRAILER, below: